Main Content

Harris United

Harris United welcomes you!

Harris United is Harris College’s DEI Committee. Our mission statement (pending college-wide adoption): To impact global health through equitable, accessible and inclusive education.

Harris United is committed to enhancing diversity, equity and inclusion throughout Harris College. The committee supports, facilitates and celebrates efforts to improve understanding and respect across students, faculty and staff.

 

What DEI Means at TCU

Diversity

From the Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, diversity reflects a broad range of identities and perspectives.

  • Race
  • Ethnicity
  • Genders
  • Gender identity
  • Sexual orientation
  • Socioeconomic status
  • Nationality
  • Religious beliefs
  • Age
  • Disability status
  • Political perspective

Greater diversity produces more robust, creative, and relevant outcomes in scholarly processes, academic and social programming, and community engagement.

 

Equity

Equity is creating opportunities for equal access and success for historically underrepresented populations. It requires proactive steps to address and transform the current culture.

 

Inclusion

Inclusion exists when all members of a community feel welcome, respected, and valued regardless of their social identities and when all experiences and cultures are validated and cherished equally.

Inclusion requires listening to other viewpoints and embracing differences. Feeling included and connected elevates engagement and a sense of belonging for everyone on campus.

 

Learn more about DEI efforts at TCU, including initiatives, programs, facts and statistics and to learn about resources, from the Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. Learn more about DEI and the core curriculum at TCU.

 

Sh’Niqua Alford
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice; Assistant Director of Field Education
Department of Social Work
s.l.alford@tcu.edu

Roina Baquera
Instructor
Department of Kinesiology
r.i.baquera@tcu.edu

Stephanie Evans
Assistant Professor
TCU Nursing
s.c.evans@tcu.edu

Lynn Flahive
Assistant Professor; Interim Director of the Davies School; Director of the Miller Speech & Hearing Clinic
Davies School of Communication Sciences & Disorders
l.flahive@tcu.edu

Teresa Gonzalez
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice
Davies School of Communication Sciences & Disorders
t.gonzalez@tcu.edu

Diane Hawley
Associate Professor of Professional Practice
TCU Nursing
d.hawley@tcu.edu

Katie Lauve-Moon
Assistant Professor of Social Work; Affiliate Faculty, Women & Gender Studies
Department of Social Work
Katie.Lauve@tcu.edu

Jennifer Martin
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice
Department of Social Work
j.l.martin3@tcu.edu

Irmgard Payne
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice; Coordinator of the Emphasis in Bilingual SLP
Davies School of Communication Sciences & Disorders
i.payne@tcu.edu

Elizabeth Pettijohn
Academic Program Specialist
Department of Kinesiology
e.pettijohn@tcu.edu

Ahmed Rivera-Campos
Assistant Professor
Davies School of Communication Sciences & Disorders
a.r.campos@tcu.edu

Jean-Franco Rivera-Pérez
Assistant Professor
Davies School of Communication Sciences & Disorders
j.riveraperez@tcu.edu

Jackie Rowles
Adjunct Faculty
School of Nurse Anesthesia
j.rowles@tcu.edu

Bethany White
Administrative Assistant
Dean’s Office
bethany.white@tcu.edu

Rosalyna (Lynita) Yarbrough
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice; Harris College Diversity Advocate
Davies School of Communication Sciences & Disorders
r.a.yarbrough@tcu.edu

January 10

Pedagogy in Practice: Pronoun Fluency Workshop: Creating Safer Spacer Through Inclusive Language
2 p.m.
TCU Campus Store
Register through the Koehler Center

January 15

MLK Celebration
11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.
BLUU Ballroom
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
RSVP with Eventbrite

February 4

Bystander to Upstander: Transforming Culture
9 a.m.
TCU Campus Store
Register through the Koehler Center

February 10

Bystander to Upstander: Transforming Culture
1 p.m.
TCU Campus Store
Register through the Koehler Center

March 5

Pedagogy in Practice: Supporting Mental Health in Your Students with Brad Stewart and Yvonne Giovanis
1 to 3 .p.m
Steve and Sarah Smith Entrepreneurs Hall, 152B
Register through the Koehler Center

March 18

Teaching and Learning Conversation: Interrogating Whiteness in the Higher Ed Classroom with Breinn Richter
2 to 3 p.m.
TCU Campus Store 209
Register through the Koehler Center

April 1

Pedagogy in Practice: Calling Out/Calling In: Facilitating Classroom Conversations on Challenging Concepts with Margaret Lowry
2 to 4 p.m.
TCU Campus Store, 209
Register through the Koehler Center

Harris United Lunch and Learn
Terminology around gender and sexuality