Main Content


Student performing research


Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences Research announces the 2018-2019 Faculty Research Symposium Series. The series kicks off on Friday, September 21, Noon to 1:30 p.m. in Kelly Alumni Center. Lunch will be served. Please invite other faculty and students to come and listen to the presentation. RSVP by the Tuesday before each event. Series Line-up: Fridays, 12:00-1:30 p.m. 

Fall, 2018 

Sept. 21: Kelly Alumni Center, Cox A

  • Office of Sponsored Research Updates with Leann Forsberg

October 26:  Kelly Alumni Center, Cox A

  • Meena Shah: The Effect of Menu Labels, specifically exercise labels, on Food choices

November 16:  Kelly Alumni Center, Cox A

  • Stephanie Evans: Healthcare Providers Awareness of Needs in the Adolescent LGBTQ+ Population


Spring, 2019

January 25: Kelly Alumni Center, Cox C

  • Glenda Daniels & Dr. Janie Robinson: Kidney Disease Knowledge and Health Perceptions in African American Males: A Barbershop Study

February 22:  Harrison B & C (Bass Conference Center)

  • Katie Lauve-Moon: Title coming by Aug 8

March 22:  Kelly Alumni Center

  • Jean Rivera Perez: Using Multimedia to Promote English/Spanish Vocabulary to English Learners


NEH Summer Stipends Program 2019
Nominations from TCU available
Internal Deadline
August 17, 2018
Announcement of Nominees
August 31, 2018
External Deadline
September 26, 2018
Anticipated Amount to be awarded by NEH
$6,000 for 2 months
Internal Submission Process
PIs must submit their application to OSP via email to
Materials to submit
Single Page Proposal Summary (1” margins; single-spaced; font size no smaller than 11 pt). Page limit includes illustrations.  Summary should include the following areas: Research and Contribution; Methodology and Work Plan; Competences Skills and Access; Final Product and Dissemination.
Link to NEH Program Announcement and Information:
Who May Serve as PI:  Faculty members with tenured or tenure-track positions who teach full-time at institutions of higher education must be nominated by their institutions to apply for a Summer Stipend. Each institution of higher education in the United States may nominate two faculty members.
Summer Stipends support individuals pursuing advanced research that is of value to humanities scholars, general audiences, or both. Eligible projects usually result in articles, monographs, books, digital materials and publications, archaeological site reports, translations, or editions. Projects must not result solely in the collection of data; instead they must also incorporate analysis and interpretation.
Summer Stipends support continuous full-time work on a humanities project for a period of two consecutive months. Summer Stipends support projects at any stage of development. Summer Stipends are awarded to individual scholars. Organizations are not eligible to apply. NEH encourages submission of Summer Stipends applications from independent scholars and faculty at Hispanic-Serving Institutions, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, and Tribal Colleges and Universities.
Summer Stipends may not be used for:


  • projects that seek to promote a particular political, religious, or ideological point of view;
  • projects that advocate a particular program of social action;
  • specific policy studies;
  • research for doctoral dissertations or theses by students enrolled in a degree program;
  • the preparation or revision of textbooks;
  • curriculum development;
  • the development of teaching methods or theories;
  • educational or technical impact assessments;
  • empirical social science research, unless part of a larger humanities project;
  • inventories of collections;
  • works in the creative and performing arts (for example, painting, writing fiction or poetry, dance performance, etc.);
  • the writing of autobiographies, memoirs, or works of creative nonfiction; or
  • the writing of guide books, how-to books, and self-help books.

Dr. Danielle Brimo, Assistant Professor, Davies School of Communication Sciences and Disorders, is Harris College’s outstanding nominee for the Deans’ Research and Creativity Award.

Irmgard Payne, Instructor for Davies School of Communication Sciences & Disorders, is Harris College’s outstanding nominee for the Deans’ Teaching Award and Spring 2018 recipient of the Deans’ Teaching Award


Dr. Nada Elias-Lambert: (SOWO), Graduate Student Recruiting Grant

Dr. Jonathan Oliver: (Kinesiology), “Nutritional strategies to augment the postprandial muscle protein synthetic response to the ingestion of a low dose of protein in older women.” Awarded funding by Increnovo LLC.

Dr. Jonathan Oliver: (Kinesiology), A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study to Evaluate the Effects of a Technology-Enhanced Curcumin Formulation on Flow Mediation Dilation (FMD)”. Awarded funding by Increnovo LLC.

Dr. Diane Hawley: (NURS), TCU, UNTHSC, and JPS Collaboration. Geriatric Workforce Enhancement Project (GWEP) to improve health professionals’ care of geriatric individuals in our community. Award of $2.5 million

Dr. Emily Lund: (COSD), The Effects of Parent Responsiveness Training on Vocabulary Knowledge of Young Children with Hearing Loss. Received Funding of $10,000 through ASH Foundation New Investigator Research Grant. Click here for abstract.

Dr. Jonathan Oliver: (Kinesiology), A comprehensive examination of factors associated with mild traumatic brain injury (mTBI) in youth and young adult athletes. Received Funding through TCU – IS Grant .

Dr. James Petrovich: (Social Work), Health service use by people experiencing homelessness: a comparison of sheltered and unsheltered subpopulations. Received Funding through TCU – IS Grant.

Dr. Kathy Baker & Dr. Suzy Lockwood (Nursing), Advancing Nurse Residencies: A Community Focus, $43,600 award from the Foundation of the National Student Nurses’ Association (FNSNA)

2018 HCNHS Student Research Symposium Winners

Undergraduate winners:

1st place Laura Panzone – COSD

2nd place  Farren Barnett – SOWO

3rd place  Dylan Hoover – KINE

4th place Crysta Coomer – NURS

Graduate winners:

1st place Joshua Rucker – COSD

2nd place  Dylann Wilkinson – SOWO

3rd place  Sarah Reno – SOWO

4th place Collin Pursley – KINE


Congratulations to Madison Burnett (COSD) for 1st place in HCNHS Boller Presentations.


The award winners for Harris College 3MT are:

1st place: Robyn Croft – COSD – mentor: Dr. Jennifer Watson

2nd place: Aimee Nucum – SOWO – mentor: Dr. James Petrovich

People’s choice award: Jessica Dinsmoor – COSD – mentor: Dr. Emily Lund